Up From Clear Water

Up from clear water it crawls onto slate flats.
Smoke rising out of the small wooden houses.
We follow the river on foot to the waterside.
We watch as it pulls itself onto the land.

It takes the colour of blue dusk and morning.
It steadies its body, it breathes as it turns.
The heather is soft underfoot by the water.
We watch as it opens its eye on this world.

I ask you how long has your home stood empty.
I ask you how far have we come on this path.
It lies at the edge of the darkening water.
It moves as I place my hand over your heart.

About Vince Stephen

You can find information about me on my blog's "About" page.
This entry was posted in Folk Songs, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

